Find your IP experts

Our teams

Gaël ESCATS

European Trademark and Design Attorney

Office : Lille
gescats@bdl-ip.com
+33 (0)3 20 63 28 30

Qualifications

  • European Trademark and Design Attorney
  • French Trademark and Design Attorney

Fields of expertise

  • Contract
  • Copyright
  • Designs
  • Domain names
  • IP litigation
  • IP management
  • IP strategy
  • Trademarks

Sectors

  • All industrial sectors

– Postgraduate diploma in Private Law (University of Nantes).

– Master’s degree in Intellectual Property Law (University of Lille).

Gaël ESCATS is a European and French Trademark and Design Attorney based in Lille.

Gaël started his IP career in the industry, initially working for the Northern France-based company Cousin Biotech (design and manufacture of textile implantable medical devices). He then joined the Eurasanté technology hub (research and development related to biotechnology, health and nutrition). He moved to Beau de Loménie, Lille office in 2008.

Gaël ESCATS specialises in the practice areas of trademarks, designs, copyright and domain names. Given his professional experiences in the health and biotechnology sectors, he is able to effectively support actors involved in the research & development, and innovation space, in their IP protection strategies encompassing their products and services. He currently assists major players from the Hauts-de-France region operating in the biotechnology-, medical- and health related industrial sectors, as well as industrial groups specialising in sporting goods and agri-food, in their efforts aimed at protecting, securing and optimising their IP assets, and fighting against counterfeiting.

With regard to trademarks and designs, Gaël’s assistance to the Firm’s clients extends from management of major portfolios, to obtaining, exploiting and defending of IP rights, both internationally and in France. In addition to involvement in pre-litigation and litigation proceedings, and portfolio audits, he also offers expertise in domain names, providing advice and assistance ranging from filing to recovery of domain names, as well as during mediation phases and in arbitration or alternative dispute resolution (ADR) procedures before the World Intellectual Property Organization-WIPO.

Moreover, Gaël is an active member of the Association des Praticiens du Droit des Marques et des Modèles – APRAM [French Association of Trade Mark and Design Law Practitioners].

Languages : French, English

Rechercher votre expert

Nos équipes

Gaël ESCATS

Conseil en Propriété Industrielle

Bureau : Lille
gescats@bdl-ip.com
03 20 63 28 30

Qualifications

  • Conseil en Propriété Industrielle (Marques, Dessins & Modèles)
  • Mandataire Européen en Marques et Modèles

Domaines de compétences

  • Marques
  • Contentieux PI
  • Contrat
  • Dessins & Modèles
  • Droit d'auteur
  • Gestion de la PI
  • Noms de domaine
  • Stratégie PI

Secteur

  • Tout secteur industriel

– Maîtrise en droit privé (Université de Nantes).

– DESS Droit de la propriété intellectuelle (Université de Lille).

Gaël ESCATS est Conseil en Propriété Industrielle et Mandataire européen en marques & modèles à Lille.

Gaël a commencé sa carrière dans la PI au sein de l’industrie. Il a tout d’abord travaillé pour la société nordiste Cousin Biotech (concepteur et fabricant de dispositifs médicaux implantables en textile technique). Il a ensuite rejoint le pôle technologique Eurasanté (recherches et développement liés aux biotechnologies, à la santé et à la nutrition). Il a intégré l’équipe lilloise de Beau de Loménie en 2008.

Gaël ESCATS intervient dans les domaines des marques, des dessins & modèles, du droit d’auteur et des noms de domaine. Ses expériences professionnelles dans les domaines de la santé et des biotechnologies, lui permettent d’accompagner avec aisance les acteurs de la recherche & développement, et de l’innovation, dans leurs stratégies de protection entourant leurs produits et services. Il assiste aujourd’hui des acteurs majeurs dans les Hauts-de-France issus des secteurs industriels des biotechnologies, du médical et de la santé, mais également des groupes industriels spécialisé dans l’équipement sportif et l’agro-alimentaire, dans leurs démarches de protection, d’optimisation de leurs titres de PI et de lutte contre la contrefaçon.

Dans les domaines des marques et des dessins & modèles, Gaël gère d’importants portefeuilles et accompagne les clients du Cabinet dans l’obtention des droits, ainsi que leur exploitation et leur défense, tant à l’international qu’en France. Il intervient également dans les procédures de précontentieux et de contentieux, ainsi qu’en matière d’audits de portefeuilles. Il possède également une expertise dans les noms de domaine et apporte conseils et assistance, du dépôt jusqu’à la récupération d’un nom de domaine, ainsi que dans les phases de médiation et lors des procédures d’arbitrage ou ADR devant l’OMPI.

Par ailleurs, Gaël est membre actif de l’APRAM.

Langues de travail : Français, Anglais